macsbbqforum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hello from Scotland: Help with first smoke (Pulled pork)

2 posters

Go down

Hello from Scotland: Help with first smoke (Pulled pork) Empty Hello from Scotland: Help with first smoke (Pulled pork)

Post  SmokerRH Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:49 pm

Hi all,

I’m looking forward to being involved in this forum. I am completely new to smoking and BBQing so I hope I can pick up some tips and advice here.

I plan to do my first pulled pork on my ProQ Frontier tomorrow. I believe the pork shoulder weighs around 3kg. I have already made a rub and put this over the pork. I plan to take this out of the fridge tonight to get it to room temperature for smoking tomorrow morning.

Below are the questions I have for this. Apologies if some questions are pretty obvious but I think this will help other beginners like myself.

How much coals do you put in coal basket?

I have a Landmann Chimney starter. Would 1 full load from the chimney starter be enough or should I add more at the start of the process?

Best type of coals to use?

How much water should I put in the basin? I believe it’s better to add hot water to begin with.

How do you refill water and coals during smoking process?

How much wood chips? It is recommended to add more in during the smoking process?

How long for 3kg Pork shoulder (approx)?

Being from the UK, there is always a high chance of rain. Is it ok for the BBQ to be exposed to the rain when in use or do you use gazebos or others methods to provide shelter?

Which rack/stacker to use? Top or middle?

Most ideal temp in meat when it’s ready?

I believe the temperature gets controlled through bottom vents? Any tips on how to control this?

Any other tips for a beginner would be appreciated.

Thank you

SmokerRH
Sausage Burner
Sausage Burner

Number of posts : 1
Registration date : 2014-08-15

Back to top Go down