macsbbqforum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newb help

2 posters

Go down

Newb help Empty Newb help

Post  Blaq Sun Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:08 pm

Hi everyone,

Firstly let me sayi have spent a few days reading the forums and there is so much helpful information it feels like my head is going to explode.

I am a total newb at smoking so please bear with me if i ask a stupid question or one that has been asked many times before Smile

OK i have the Pro Q Excel, stainless steel wood box. Cocoshell for fuel (6 x 5kgs) and a selection of hickory, mesquite and jack daniels wood chips and pellets.

I also have to cater for 60 people on saturday!

My plan was to make chicken and either lambor beef depending on what i can find from the butcher.

I would like to do about a dozen beer can chickens and either some short beef ribs or maybe some legs of lamb.

I am still trying to find out if that is even possible!!

My friend who has talked me through a lot of stuff and will help me out abit more but i thought maybe i could ask some of you experts on the best way to cater for 60 people. I have All day friday and saturday to prepare the food and my plan was to smoke everything first and then place on the grill with some sauce to sear and caramelise it.

Oh yeah, i forgot to mention ... i am doing all this in the middle of a forest. Normally i would just marinade the meat and then grill it on a BBQ but this year i thought i would smoke it ... and now i am wondering if i have bitten off more than i can chew.

Also if anyone could point me to any guides dealing with injecting meat that would be appreciated.

Is it possible to even cook that amount of meat in one sitting? I was thinking perhaps i could do the chickens on the first level and the meat above it, then just replace the chickens when they are cooked with fresh ones.

Thanking you in advance.

Q.

Blaq Sun
Sausage Burner
Sausage Burner