macsbbqforum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

So, you have just got your smoker, whats next?

4 posters

Go down

So, you have just got your smoker, whats next? Empty So, you have just got your smoker, whats next?

Post  TobyAnscombe Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:11 pm

Hope that this might help someone, although having only had mine for a year I am still learning...

I've written this as a 'how to do ribs for the first time' although feel free to correct and comment....

Ribs - The best (most show off/easiest to do) are pork baby back ribs. You can get them from farm shops or I have seen them in Waitrose for about £5. My local butcher didn't have any so I got these from Waitrose.

First off, take them out of the packet and wash them in cold water. I then rub them in white vinegar (the dirt cheap stuff from Tescos) to clean any residual crap off them. Rinse again under cold water and put onto a baking sheet.
So, you have just got your smoker, whats next? 5624940769_b71d232c0e_z

Then cover in American mustard, you can use other stuff but all you are looking for is something for the rub to stick to. I love the sweet mild taste of Frenchies so I tend to use that.
So, you have just got your smoker, whats next? 5625529568_4c915ac36e_z

Then you need a rub - basically all a rub is is just a load of herbs and spices that you rub (see where it gets the name!) over the meat. For this first attempt keep it simple and in a blender mix:
3 tablespoons of Paprika
2 tablespoons of fresh black pepper
1 tablespoon of decent salt (Maldon or something - you need the lumpy texture)
1 tablespoon of garlic powder
1 tablespoon of onion powder
1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper powder

Mix it up in the blender so that its well combined. Taste a bit and see if you need to add anything else to it - its not rocket science...