macsbbqforum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Complete beginner

5 posters

Go down

Complete beginner Empty Complete beginner

Post  delooney Thu May 20, 2010 8:51 am

Hello all,

I have just purchased a Pro Q Excel 20, very pleased, just one thing, I'm an absolute novice at this and would really appreciate some help from the pro's out there!!!

So here's what I need to know really:

Should I burn some coals and have the unit empty of food before I cook any food? To get rid of any 'crap' inside from manufacturing?

What coals to buy, anything special or in particular? and where online please?

Pellets or wood chips? Difference please?

Same with wood chips, what and where?

I've been told about smoking you need to top up the coals but must top up using already cooked (white) coals as to not 'poison' the food, what can I buy and where to pre cook these coals before adding to my E 20 please?

How often should coals be added? Or is it when the temp starts to drop?

If I want to smoke do I always have to use the water bowl?

Dry rub/wet rub what's this? What works best?

What's the best techniques to getting the fire going? Bit of newspaper under coals etc?

I know this is a lot to ask, but if people could maybe just answer one or two it would really help me out.

Many thanks!!!

delooney
Sausage Burner
Sausage Burner

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2010-05-20

Back to top Go down

Complete beginner Empty Re: Complete beginner

Post  Jonesey73 Thu May 20, 2010 9:09 am

Hi, and welcome to the forum.
You'll find the people on here friendly and full of advice ... they've certainly helped me in the past.

I'll try to answer some of your questions, but there are people here who have far more experience than me!!!!!.